Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kaotickelly

HELP! Overwatered

kaotickelly
12 years ago

Hello Well Today I was watering my W. Robustas and I overwatered one of them. Opps I dont know what i was thinking. But The water over flowed out of the drain dish and now the soil is completly soggy! Is their anything I could do? I put it in to the sun so maybe it could also dri it out or something then I tilted the pot to drain the remaining water out. I Dont know Is it in danger or should i just not water it for awhile?

Comments (8)

• mastiffhoo
    12 years ago

I'm not an expert, but I think as long as you have not been over-watering the palm extensively, it should be ok. My personal opinion is to simply let it dry out and continue normal watering from here out. Also, you may not want the roots to freeze (not sure what the weather is like there this time of year). Good luck.

• wetsuiter
    12 years ago

If its not been in direct sun (inside) and you set it out suddenly you can fry the leaves, further complicating the dilemma. Just let it dry out naturally. If you have it in a good draing soil and pot with holes, it should be fine.

• us_marine
    12 years ago

What are the temps like where your at? If they are above freezing, you will be fine. Just let it dry out before watering again. They can take wet soil for a while over here in cali, and our winters are wet and cool.
    Good luck :)

- US_Marine

• kaotickelly
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hey thanks guys, Yeah I think its going to be okay. It is in a pot inside so I dont have to worry about the roots Freezing. But the Temps here during the day are like 73 degrees F, and at night like 40 Degrees F. So they arent outside. Yeah I havent really been Watering It Like everyday, Maybe like once a week or every two weeks just to keep the soil moist so it wont completly dry out for the soil to get hard. But Thanks alot guys! I got freaked out for a minute there Hahaha. Thanks

• us_marine
    12 years ago