Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chippy_gw

Got a sago palm, have a few questions....

chippy
16 years ago

Hi all,

Got this Sago palm in today.

Can anyone tell me any info about it? Is it planted correctly? Can I use fertilizer that I use for my palms from TMS?

Full sun? Slow growth rate? water frequently?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm very new to this plant.

Thanks,

-Chip

{{gwi:1129309}}

{{gwi:1129310}}

Comments (28)

• shiollie
    16 years ago

A Sago is not a palm, it is a cycad. It is my understanding that they need much more nitrogen than palms do. On watering, let it dry out before watering again, remember it is actually a desert plant. I believe that the growth rate is rather slow but someone else will chime in to confirm or deny.

• chippy
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the info. I was aware that its a cycad, just got used to everyone calling it a palm.
    Pretty nice looking plant. Since its a desert plant, I hope the humidity hear in NY doesn't affect it. I was actually going to get another one, I guess ill wait for more input.

Any other suggestions will be appreciated.

-Chip

• cycadjungle
    16 years ago

Well, for one it IS NOT a desert plant. Cycas revoluta comes from Japan (and Rykuru islands) where it is used for food during times of famine (thus the name "sago" palm, sago is a food substance)They usually grow in full sun on hillsides, which means they can tolerate water, but in habitat, the water drains quickly. The plant prefers full sun. Other than that, what I would suggest is to read articles about cycads in general, but all you need to know about this species is that it likes full sun and water regularly (and if the people that you bought it from said it likes it dry they know nothing about this plant) Here are some good general articles on cycads:
    http://cycadjungle.8m.com/cycadjungle/articles.html

• cycadjungle
    16 years ago