Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missingmygreenthumb

Need help for my windmill palm quickly!!

Hello,
I am really new to gardening but am trying my best here! I bought a double windmill palm last year and planted it by my pool. It has been declining for some time now. I tied up the leaves and covered it with burlap this winter and I could see that the fonds started turning more and more brown throughout the winter. Now I have uncovered it and the fonds are all brown and one of the trunks is starting to slump and feels kinda squishy at the top. The fonds are easy to pull out and are a little wet. Can it be saved? Someone please give me some hope!!

Comments (13)

• MissingMyGreenThumb
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here's a pic

• jimhardy
    11 years ago

Start a few inches from the top and start cutting at an angle(low side to the south)as soon(if)you see green or-more likely white living tissue stop...and leave it at that point-if the trunk is still alive and temps are warm enough you should see the center raise up in a few days...

Heres an example-

Start out with a few inches off the top...

• MissingMyGreenThumb
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Update..we used a tractor to get it out of the ground and the roots appear to still be white. The smaller trunk has a green fond in the center that doesn't come out when pulled pretty hard. I put it in a pot but haven't added any soil because the soil caked around it really wet. What should be my next step? I figured I'd wait a day or so and let the roots dry a bit and then give it a good watering with 50/50 hydrogen peroxide mixture.

• MissingMyGreenThumb
    Original Author
    11 years ago