Return to the Palms & Cycads Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sylvester Palm Landscaping

Posted by kelela411 z9florida (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 9, 11 at 21:48

I am new to the beautiful sunny Central Gulf Coast Florida area. I am interested in any ideas of what plants to put under a recently planted Sylvester (phoenix Sylvestris) Palm Tree in the center of my front yard surrounded by a circular driveway. Hoping to plant something colorful, drought tolerant, and easy to maintain.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sylvester Palm

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sylvester Palm Landscaping

Nice palm, I would surround it with some lirope, cycads and your favorite agave!

o

I would plant some aloe as they are useful plants to have if someone gets a burn and also look interesting while in bloom. I like plumerias but they grow like a tree, you could always hack it down. They have flowers that are awesome and many smell heavenly!

T.J.

o

I agree with T.J. I planted aloe(real fast growing) and some cactus, looks great and low maintainance. http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/yy352/wellsme/019.jpg http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/yy352/wellsme/016.jpg

o