Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cindymcb

Papyrus

cindymcb
15 years ago

Forgive me if I'm in the wrong forum; I'm really not sure what category papyrus falls info...ornamental grasses???

If I'm in the right spot, here's my problem. I'm new to growing papyrus, and while I love my beautiful plant, I'm completely ignorant on how to prune it. When I planted it last spring, it grew like the proverbial weed. It was tall, healthy and absolutely beautiful. Now, though, the base has gotten so thick with the stubs of cut-off stems that the new growth is no longer coming in healthy. I don't know how to solve the problem. Seems like I should somehow narrow down that base to what it was, but I don't know how to go about doing that, or what tools are best. I tried using a shovel...spade backwards to dig in, then up to dig. Didn't work...the base is tough and amazingly stubborn! How do I get my beautiful papyrus back and healthy again???

Comments (7)

• garyfla_gw
    15 years ago

Hi
    Not a palm of course but a sedge,probably water plants?? lol Anyway I grow both the gigantic and the dwarf types but both have similar culture .Are you growing potted in standing water?? This is the best method IMO.
    About every 3 years they need to completely ripped apart.
    A pot keeps it from spreading too far. You'll probably need to dig up the entire clump and separate . You'll have to do this repeatedly over time and a pot makes it a LOT easier. Have you ever tried to make "paper" from it?? Know how this is done ?? gary

• cindymcb
    Original Author
    15 years ago