Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
acaryofyllis

Growth Rate - When will it start producing Mature Fronds?

acaryofyllis
10 years ago

hi, im new to the forums. i have been growing this Cocos Palm (Syagrus Romanzoffiana) for the past 3-4 years when it sprouted in my garden from my large Cocos Palm in the backyard. Anyways, my questions are:
* How can i speed up the growth rate? (i have been fertilising it regarly with Slow release fertiliser)
* When will it start looking like a Palm Tree? (as in having Mature fronds and not Seedling leaves)

Regards Anthony :)

PS - The plant is about 20-25cm tall from the top of the soil

Comments (7)

• acaryofyllis
    Original Author
    10 years ago

This is the Parent Tree

• garyfla_gw
    10 years ago

Hi
    Have grown many of these from seed for my dwarfing experiments and find they vary widely in growth rate particularly in pots . Also they seem to really speed up at
    around two meters.. The fastest I've gone from seed to seeding was 7 years though some siblings of this batch are still not seeding By far the fastest growth was always when planted directly in the ground.
    Palm growers are always VERY patient lol good luck gary

• tropicbreezent
    10 years ago

It'll depend a lot on your climate, how long your growing season is. In some places they're considered a weed and are banned. If your seedling is only 20 to 25 cms after 3 to 4 years, that's a very slow growth rate.

• acaryofyllis
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi, thanks for your replies. I have been growing it within a pot since I found it in the garden when it had 1 leaf on it. The pot is pretty massive for it and I want to refrain from planting it in the ground as they grow to large and require a lot of maintenance (personal experience from the parent tree of the seedling). Is there anything that I can purchase from the garden centre in order to make it grow quicker?

Regards, Anthony

• tropicalzone7
    10 years ago