Return to the Palms & Cycads Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mealybugs killing my palms

Posted by foxroofcleaning S. FL (My Page) on
Mon, May 31, 10 at 20:12

Hello,

I've been fighting with these Mealybugs for quite some time.
From what I have read in the web, I learned that spraying rubbing alcohol mixed with water on the base of the palms (where these bugs are) should get rid of them.
Unfortunately, my palm plants don't seem to recover from what is killing them. Every time I spray alcohol, I discover the white little killers crawl up, or at least I think so.. Although, when I open the old leaf stems, I see more of these bugs and apparently they are not dead (when I squeeze them, they explode some liquid)..

What in the world can I get in order to kill these species forever?

I am not an expert planter. In fact, I don't know anything about plants. I picked up those an year ago from HomeDepot and back then, they were so big and healthy. What did I do to them? How can I safe and bring them back to life?
Here is a pic of them (the two in the middle) on my balcony, taken 15mins ago:
http://foxroofcleaning.com/images/palm-plants.jpg

Please help!

Thank You.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mealybugs killing my palms

I hear neem oil works well. I have a huge problem with pests on my plants. Rubbing alcohol seems to work well on scale and pretty well on aphids. Coffee grinds work okay but not as well for me as some document. I have even gotten to the point where I put purell on these pests but that also kills the leaves that come in contact with it.

Good luck!!
-Alex

o

Since I can put some of my plants outside and away from animals, I have used a systemic such a Bayer pest control" and this has done the job for good on mine..Thye just fall off after injesting the toxin..Eevn scale hates this stuff, aphids, and etc.

I am not big on sysytemics, but in this case, I don't care. It does the job on non edables..

Mike

o