Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropic_lover

Which palms are best for growing in pots?

Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to growing palms and would like to know which varities you northern growers have had the best luck with growing in pots. I live in northern Utah and will have to bring them indoors for the winter. I already have a Phoenix Roebellini, cat palm, and I just bought a mexican fan palm. I do have a good south facing window where they can spend the winter. I was also wondering if any varities could overwinter in the garage which is usually in the 40's during the coldest part of the winter. The window faces east, so I'm not sure how much light they would get. Thanks in advance!

Linda

Comments (23)

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    15 years ago

Probably any of the zone 7B-9a subtropical palms (Windmill, Pindo, Sabal palmetto, Sabal minor, Med fan, Washingtonia, Phoenix, etc) could winter over in the garage provided they get some light and it doesn't get much below 35 degrees. I'm wintering over Pindo, Canary Island Date, and Sago in my garage with no problems. Gets down to about 45 minimum with a small electric heater. Some light from windows. They go outside during mild spells in the winter.

As far as more tropical palms indoors, I've had good luck with Spindle, Rhapis, and Dypsis lutescens. I'm sure there are many more!

• andyandy
    15 years ago

Dave pretty much hit all my suggestions. i would add sabal Palmetto. (State tree of Florida and S. Carolina). They are slow growers (especailly when in cool temps). I have two in one pot I got in April 2007. They did great next to a south facing window. It is cool hardy enough to move outside when lows are mid 30s. Here is a picture of my two (there are two seperate plants in there). They have picked up nicely since it's warmed up.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• Linda's Garden z6 Utah
    Original Author
    15 years ago