Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcgyvr2009i

Is Washingtonia Robusta (Mexican Fan Palm) invasive?

mcgyvr2009i
10 years ago

I just read that W. Robusta can grow up to 6 feet every year. That means it will be 60 feet in a decade. It will most likely outgrow my house when given the right conditions sometime in the next 3 years. So I'm just wondering. If this palm is invasive, since I plan on moving to Florida, how do I control it's reproduction that way it doesn't rapidly take over my yard?

Thanks in advance.

Comments (6)

• Funboy
    10 years ago

My guess is, that this would be under the most pristine conditions. Perfect weather, soil, feeding and watering. I've seen pictures of W.Robusta at 2 years and they were 6 to 8 inches. I'm currently germinating some Mexican fan palms, and hoping they will grow quickly. I am brand new to gardening but believe I've found a new love.

• wetsuiter
    10 years ago

My friend in San Diego calls them "weeds". Her neighborhood association does not allow Mexican Fan palms to be planted. You hit the nail on the head as to why. Their rapid growth to sky dusting heights rapidly puts them out of ladder reach for trimming off dead fronds of " the skirt" as the natural appearance of mature trees because dead fronds seldom drop on their own. The skirts attract pests like rats and pigeons, so in a neighborhood like hers, they must be pruned. also the dead fronts create a fire hazard. Professional tree trimmers that have to use a "cherry picker" truck can cost hundreds of dollars per tree. They are also prolific seeders and little fan palms pop up everywhere birds drop them: "weeds".

I'm sure in Florida where they are not native, they could be considered invasive.

• Bob_in_AZ__Z9
    10 years ago