Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grice_gw

What's the best thing to use against spider mites on indoor palms

grice
16 years ago

I love palms but I hear that they are mite magnets. What is the most effective thing to use on indoor palms to prevent or rid a palm of mites? Would neem oil work?

Grice

Comments (16)

• arcticpalm
    16 years ago

I am far from an expert but I have been advised to use a fan on your plants. Mites hate wind. I am sure there are many other ways. You can wash them off if you find them.

• topher2006
    16 years ago

Grice

Neem oil works but so does a mild soapy mix

• blondboy47
    16 years ago

we use the mild soap mix (dishsoap in a spray bottle) along with the fan thing... works well if you keep it up.

• andyandy
    16 years ago

If you mist your palms regularly that helps a lot. If they a manageable size giving them a thorough rinsing in the shower every few months will also do the trick.

• protempsfish
    16 years ago

i just found some spidermites on my indoor robellini. I have had them before and used SAFERS mite spray that you can find in any Home Depot or nuresery. They disappear after few days. I have that problem with my indoor odura elephant ear at least once a year. SAFERS works every time. Sadly, I am not receiving any commission for this shameless plug.

• oppalm
    16 years ago

protempsfish - sometimes its not about the money, its about helping people.

• andyandy
    16 years ago

Protempfish-
    Have you considered leaving it outside for the summer (even if shade). a couple of months in the wind and rain will clear the problem out.

• grice
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you all.
    "Sadly, I am not receiving any commission for this shameless plug." LOL
    Grice

• grice
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the tip Watergal.
    Grice

• cfkingfish
    16 years ago

You guys want to use something a bit more tasty? :)