Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loveplants22

Anyone have a recipe for Jelly from my Pindo Palm?

Hello Everyone....My name is Laura and I am new to this Palm Forum...I have many Sables (15 footers) and Pindos or Jelly palms growing in my yard here in Virginia.

I am looking for a recipe for making Jelly from the fruit of my Pindo Palm....My palms are very mature and produce large blooms with many fruit along with many seeds...I did try to follow a recipe with a different type of fruit, but I thought someone here on this forum might have a great recipe to share

Any ideas? Thank you for any advice!!!

Laura

Comments (21)

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Mastiffhoo,

Thank you so much for all of the information!!! I have tried for several years to make Jelly from the Pindo...the first year it came out OK...but the second time it didn't set up at all! LOL...

I will use your recipe for sure!!! My fruit on several of my trees are about 3 weeks from maturity...so I will have to wait.

I am here in VB... My palms have been in the ground for about 15 years...(The cabbages/Sabals have been in the ground the longest. My pindos have been planted for about 12 years. I no longer do anything to them in the winter...however I do watch the weather when it gets close to a hard freeze...If it gets around 25 degrees for a few consec. days, then I will place heat cords around the hearts of the trees and tuck them in with burlap.
    I haven't had to do this for a long time!!! Thank goodness because it is a process (I have about 9-10) in my backyard so it is a major job when it is cold outside!!! I don't do anything to protect my Windmills...and I have several Ponytails that are in pots which I bring inside during the fall. (Bottle Palm as well)