Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leekle2mane

Another curiosity question.

Okay, as I have stated in other posts, I have three robellini's planted in my yard. But I'm seriously wondering if it is just three. When I was planting them in the ground, I did some checking and found that if you separate them from each other, they will grow slightly faster than they would if clumped together. So I separated mine by about 8ft. Now, I acquired my robi's when they were on sale at Home Despot. I did not remove the soil from around their roots because, being a newbie, I didn't feel comfortable with that idea.

But as I learn more and more and I look at my palms more and more, I'm wondering if my three pots of pygmies aren't three pots of three-four pygmies. When visiting Home Despot and looking at the older, trunking pygmies, they are always three trunks to a pot. If they are multiple trunks/plants, can they be separated or are they pretty much inextricably knotted together by now?

Thanks!

Here's a picture of one of them so there's less guesswork:

{{gwi:1145855}}

Comments (10)

• User
    11 years ago

But if I understand correctly, you have planted three groupings of roebellini separated by several feet. I would not attempt to separate further each cluster. In answer to your question, many of these palms sold at HD (all over the country, if not the planet) seem to be individual plants potted together. I don't think I would risk this surgery. In addition, to make life more complicated,, I have read that Phoenix roebellini does have some individual palms that can produce sideshoot pups. Guessing that being from HD, it's a multiple planting and not a clustering individual. But only guessing here.

• denninmi
    11 years ago