Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slow73

Wierd Planting Insructions?

slow73
12 years ago

I have not had good luck with palms in the ground at my house. My property sits on nothing but that gummy clay that only seems good for making clay pots and what not. Some have died a few weeks after transplanting. So while looking around the net I came across a local palm nursery in my area that had planting instructions. According to them you should dig a hole as deep as the pot of the palm to be planted. Add six inches of course sand to the bottom of that hole. Place said palm rootball into hole with some of the rootball above ground level. Then backfill with the same soil removed from the hole (said nothing about amending the backfill) creating a mound. To me this does not sound right but again I am a novice. What do some of yall "experts" and experienced palm grows think about these instructions?

Comments (8)

• tropicalzone7
    12 years ago

I would personally backfill with a more sandy mixture and just get rid of the clay soil instead of adding it to the hole. I like the idea of planting it on a mound and since you are a zone 8 I also have clay soil and although certain plants appeciate the additional moistur, extreme cold should not be a problem for palms like Trachycarpus.
    I also have clay soil. Some of my plants are okay with it (my windmill palms dont have a problem, the brugs are okay with it, and my crape myrtle also seems to like the clay soil), other palms and plants do like to have there soil amended with things that are better draining like potting soil (sometimes I completely replace the soil with potting soil). Clay soil isnt as much of a problem here during the summer months because it gets very hot and sometimes pretty dry too, its the spring and fall that cause some of the plants to suffer from too much moisture.
    So basically, this is what I would do...

Make a hole that is a bit deeper and a bit wider than you need