Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smithgn_gw

Yellowing/black spots on small California Palm

smithgn
10 years ago

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to palm trees and about 2 months ago I bought these 2 small, California fan palms. As you can see in the pictures, one of the leaves is starting to develop yellowing and some black spots. The yellowing and black spotting is only happening to one of the palms.

One mistake I might have made was I added 2-3 teaspoons of palm "food" 12-4-12, to both the palms. Although, if this were the case, both of them would have showed signs of yellowing/black spots instead of just the one shown. They're of course watered regularly and the soil is kept fairly moist but not wet. Very humid down here in SC.

{{gwi:1156304}}

Another close-up
{{gwi:1156305}}

Here is another leaf that is starting to turn brown
{{gwi:1156307}}

A picture of both of my little ones

Comments (3)

• us_marine
    10 years ago

In the last pic they look fine to me. It looks like its just the oldest fronds are dying off naturally. Are the fronds/leaves pictured above the oldest ones at the bottom? And do you know for sure if they are CA fan palms?

I don't think you have anything to worry about if those are just the oldest fronds. Brown spots could mean fungal disease though. And if they are pure CA fan palms you'll have to keep an eye on them. They don't really like humid summers and easily die from fungal complications.Even over here in the West where humidity is very low they don't really do so well on the coast where humidity is higher.
    I've had brown spots (fungal disease) kill 2 of my coco's before. But if it were a fungal problem you'd see brown spots on healthy fronds too.

- US_Marine

• smithgn
    Original Author
    10 years ago