Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wantonfly

Cyrtostachys Renda ( Red Sealing Wax ) growth rate

wantonfly
15 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to palms and now am enamored with Cyrtostachys Renda. I plan to buy seedlings vs a 2-3 foot plant. I've been searching the web as well as GW site for more specifics on the palm's growth rate. All I can find is "slow growing." Can anyone with experience comment on Cyrtostachys' natural growth history in ideal conditions, ie time from seedling to 1 ft, 2 ft, 5 ft, 10 ft, etc? I'd hate to buy seedlings if it's going to take ten years to get one foot :)

Also, at what age/height will the red color manifest? Thanks.

Comments (25)

• garyfla_gw
    15 years ago

Hi
    Have you checked out the Fairchild site?? They have the most culture info I've ever found .
    Don't you just love thst "Slow growing"?? lol
    One way to get an estimate of not only growth but hardiness is by comparing prices of various sizes The wider the range the more difficulty and time involved at getting it to that size. A mature plant is one of the most expensive by far!!! BTW providing "ideal" conditions is really tough outside of the tropics. Good luck with yours
    I killed the three I tried. gary

• david_
    15 years ago

These are painfully slow and if you want what you see in the pics on the internet you will be waiting for yrs.They go from one gallon to 3 gallon in 2 3 4 etc yrs. They will not survive with temps under 40 degrees at all and are slow indoors even more.I don't want to sound gloom but I want you to know if you want want soon it will not happen. Good luck

• wantonfly
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Garyfla and David. Fairchild did not give specific rates. I plan to grow them in containers and winterize. I've had success with growing many tropical fruit trees and plants in containers and now looking for (gulp) a new challenge in Cyrtostachys Renda. The more difficult plants are in the end more treasured, right?