Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilikoilady_gw

lovely palm ID help!!!????

lilikoilady
11 years ago

Hi Everybody!

I am infatuated with this palm and have asked a number of nursery people and no one has been able to tell me what it is! Can you help?

The trunk is about 5-6 feet tall. The entire tree is about 10 feet tall. The dirt road is a bit helpful for scale.

I've had suggestions of a Roystonea or a Ravenea.

The palm lives in Kauai, Hawaii- very tropical.

Is it possible to tell if it is a mature tree or a young tree? I'm hoping it's not a young royal palm that will outgrow it's awesome teardrop shape!!

Comments (17)

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    11 years ago

I am no expert, but I believe this is a bottle palm, Hyophorbe lagenicaulis, that has been well "groomed". Doing a search for Bottle Palm will reveal a number of pictures that look like the one you provided. Others will show much rougher versions that haven't been trimmed as tightly.

Images

• andyandy
    11 years ago

That is defuinately a bottle palm. they get that name because of the swollen trunk

• lilikoilady
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the suggestions of bottle palm, but the bottle palm's fronds are much stiffer than this palm. This palm's fronds are softer. They arch up, then down, and move in the wind like a coconut. Are there different varieties of bottle palm with the more delicate frond?
    It seems like most mature bottle palms are shaped more like a coke bottle than a tear drop. Are there other palms that have the teardrop shape?
    Thanks so much for any info!

• ericthehurdler
    11 years ago

the fronds are way to plumose to be a bottle.
    the plumose like fronds look alot like Roystonea, The trunk has a very cool shape but liek you said its a young one.
    im going with Roystonia regia

• steve0910
    11 years ago

Definitely Royal Palm. Roystonea elata or regia. I think that both are now classified as R. regia.

• lilikoilady
    Original Author