Return to the Palms & Cycads Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My sabal fronds won't grow

Posted by hungvlam NC (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 3, 13 at 15:31

Hello,
We have recently purchased and planted a sabal. It has been 2 months, but the fronds on top still haven't come out yet. Any ideas what we need to do? The other 3 palm trees bought at the same time are doing just fine. Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My sabal fronds won't grow

If the other 2 are the ones pictured, I'm guessing they were containerized. Hurricane cut palmettos will take a long time to establish and grow extremely slowly. Unfortunately, in many cases they don't make it. 2 months is not a very long time, and I'm no expert based on where I live alone, but it seems it may have been planted a little late in the season depending on where you live in NC. Make sure you keep it well watered and you'll probably need to protect a bit this winter from freezing precipitation. As long as the center spear is green, you'll be fine. Even next year though, you might only get a couple of fronds.

o

Thanks for the response. Yep, I have been watching those spears to make sure they don't turn brown.

o

It could take up to a year to see growth.

o

It's likely putting all its energy into its roots. Keep giving it slot of water while the weather is still warm. Depending on where you are in NC, you might want to offer the crown a little winter protection on the coldest nights and to keep out any winter precipitation if you get any there. It should be fine.

o

Thanks for all replies. What's the crown of the palm tree?

o

Um... The leaves/fronds.

o