Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dochollywood_gw

Palm Identification

Howdy Forum...

I am new to this palm thing. I have two of these palms in the landscape (they were present when we purchased the home 2 and 1/2 years ago). They have grown alot. Is it a date palm? And if it is which one? How fast do they grow? I am wondering if it needs to be transplanted since it is getting quite large. Any special care instructions I should be adhering to?

Comments (25)

• subtropix
    11 years ago

Yes, it's a Date Palm. Not sure of the variety. At first, I thought Phoenix canariensis, but your palms leaves have more silver/blue to them. So, I wonder if it is either True Date P. dactylifera or silvestris. Still, coud be canariensis, and the are MASSIVE palms!! It is in the ground, no? Why transplant?

• DocHollywood 9b Central Tucson
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks. This is the other palm, the one that needs to be transplanted. It is growing right under the mesquite tree.

• ericthehurdler
    11 years ago

It is a funky spot to have a Canary island date palm. You should probably replant the palm from under the mesquite tree to somewhere with more overhead space. CIDP get very tall and grow moderately fast. Very nice looking place you got though.

Original Author
    11 years ago

yah, we did not do the original planting. Only recently did I realize these things are going to grow large. The one being moved is under the canopy of the mesquite tree. I had no idea they were date palms. Edible fruit? I will post another picture of the one that is not being moved for perhaps better species identification. Thanks.

{{!gwi}}

Original Author
    11 years ago

picture

• garyfla_gw
    11 years ago

Hi