Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
markywonder_gw

an excellent palm for zone 6 - Trachycarpus Wagnerianus

markywonder
17 years ago

Hello palm fans. I have been growing the Trachycarpus Wagnerianus for three years now and I am absolutely impressed with this palm. This palm is a true zone 6 star. Below I have summarized some points about the Wagnerianus' performance in Connectciut (zone 6A).

-zero leaf damage thru two winters, planted on the southside & eastside of house, i.e. it handles anything a zone 6 climate can thow at it

-the leaves & stems are so strong they don't bend under the weight of snow or ice

-unlike the fortunei, the wagnerianus is a disease-free & worry-free palm that doesn't develop crown rot from poorly drained soils [Betrock's Cold Hardy Palms (Alan Meerow)]

-the wagneranius is so rugged that it completely recovered after having all its leaves & spear eaten by wild rabbits in the middle of winter

-does best with 4 - 12 inches of pine bark mulch which is best at preventing ground freeze

-not fast growing, but moderate growing

-everyone who owns a fortunei and a wagnerianus all say the wagnerianus is a more beautiful palm. For great pictures go to hardiestpalms.com or plantapalm.com

-get a pure bred wagnerianus because there are cross bed varieties that don't perform as well

-bought my waggi at 10" high, now it is approx 2 to 3 feet tall

-acording to Plant Delights: "In cultivation, palmophiles recognize it as the hardiest of the trachycarpus group. In stature, it makes a 20' tall trunk exactly like T. fortunei except that the round leaves are stunningly beautiful and much shorter (18" diameter compared to 33" diameter for T. fortunei). Reports from those who have grown T. wagnerianus indicate that it can be 8-10 degrees more hardy than T. fortunei. "

-the wagnerianus is not as widely cultivated & available as the fortunei. Large sizes are hard to find, as most palm growers only recently started to cultivate the wagnerianus.