Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
youthgarden

Pygmy Date Palm store bought

YouthGarden
9 years ago

So I decided to get myself a tripple pygmy date palm or Phoenix roebelenii from Lowes, when I had got it I later noticed that on one of the palms, 3 out of 6 spears had been cut!,Leaving the remaining three untouched.

I had already thrown out the receipt and had been stuck wondering if it would affect its growth at all, or if those fronds will still continue to grow now that they had been cut halfway... I have no clue why, It almost seemed as if it was healthy when cut. I figured it would affect the structure of the plant later on... or maybe not depending if the fronds will still grow out, just shorter. Could anyone shed some light on this? please and thankyou heh.

This is my first time caring for a pygmy date palm, I plan to bring it out on my patio when the summer months come, For now i have it by a well lit window that receives morning sun and I also have a heat lamp a bit up away from the palms holding Two 24 or 23 Watt CFL low heat bulbs of both red and white spectrum just above the palms for now, and a timer set 12 hours on and 12 off, is this fine?.

Also I have had the palms for 2 and a half weeks now and had re potted it a week ago from regular potting mix that it was in from the shop into a mix of promix,Schultz tropical mix,and orchid mix at the bottom for some drainage, I fertilized once because it was the last palm they had on sale for the end of the season and figured it probably had not been fertilized the time it was there, or i could had been wrong.