Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leekle2mane

Palm Reading

Sort of. I'm actually looking for an identification of this palm that I have seen at Sea World - Orlando several times but never remembered to get a picture of to get it identified. I finally remembered. The picture really doesn't do it justice as you don't really get a sense of scale here. But in person this thing is just huge when compared to most palms I encounter. It is easily 15-20 ft wide.

{{gwi:1184200}}

Comments (13)

• miketropic
    11 years ago

I would say it was a bismark but that smooth lower trunk is throwing me off...still looks like a bismark to me but I am far from an expert

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Looking at pictures of other Bismarks, I think you are correct. I even see some that have been smooth trimmed like this one. I've seen people talk about Bismarks on this forum many, many times. I guess I just never got to see one this big. Or just didn't realize it. In the google images there's one that looks like it might make this one look a little on the small side.

Thanks for the help!

• tropicbreezent
    11 years ago

It is a Bismarckia nobilis. They normally have a smooth trunk, they're self cleaning. Only very small plants retain the leaf bases. After they start trunking the old leaf bases soon start to fall off. Can't find photos of the tallest I've seen, this is about a medium sized one.

• miketropic
    11 years ago

I have 5 seeds in the prop that have been there a bit over a month and nothing. I would love to have a bismarck but once it got that big im not sure what I could do with it seeing my climate and all

• garyfla_gw
    11 years ago

hi