Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theiss87

Sabal Palmetto in Delaware?

theiss87
14 years ago

After reading through a few posts, I can see there are a few fellow Delawareans! Have any of you had any luck with Sabal Palmetto in the First State? If so, how difficult was it, and what winter protections were necessary? I live way up north basically on the PA border, in zip code 19808. I'm just getting into the hardy palm community, and have 3 pindos and a trachycarpus fortunei potted outside this winter with only natural protection (leaves and pine needles packed around the trunk) and in strategic locations around the house (minimal wind chill, plenty of sunlight). What have your experiences been with needs for winter protection in general? Thanks

Comments (62)

• theiss87
    Original Author
    14 years ago

everything I've read says palms transplant/adapt better at a younger age. So I'm not surprised at all that full sized Palmettos died, they were probably raised in Florida or somewhere where they were never challenged low-temperature wise, and couldn't handle a northern winter. I'm not in zone denial, but I am willing to push the envelope a bit, especially when I'm dealing with cheap seedlings, instead of what I assume were several-hundred dollar full sized palmettos planted at the beach. Hopefully with adequate protection in the early years and then less as the years go on, this may work.

• NoVaPlantGuy_Z7b_8a
    14 years ago

True, that smaller ones will adapt much better to cold. That said, It will be 30-30 years before you have anything resembling "trees". Thats why the "hurricane" cut Sabals are so incredibly popular. The funny thing about "hurricane" cut full size sabals, is that they generally are not real expensive. A few hundred bucks for a full size tree really is not bad, especially when you consider how slow they grow.