Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ninecrow_uk

What Pollen can I use to....

ninecrow
17 years ago

Set Fruit on my Edulis Flav? (Haven't had any luck So Far *Sigh*)

Thanks Guy's

{{gwi:102376}}

Comments (9)

• birdinthepalm
    17 years ago

I'm by no means an expert of passionfruit pollination, but researching the topic the purple ones are "supposed" to be self fertile I guess? Sometimes getting the righ pollen howver on some plants can be related to having proper temperatures and other conditions , so I wonder if you're getting the pollen you need? I'd guess just using an artists paintbrush to trasfer the pollen would work perhaps, if you haven't the insect and other pollinators in a greenhouse environment!

• ninecrow
    Original Author
    17 years ago

It's Not the Purple fruited one and it's NOT self-fertile...
    I WILL be trying again with it's own pollen though, just to see if I've got the Non Selfer part right...

Mine is inside on a windowsill so there are NO bee's or whatnots

• jblaschke
    17 years ago

Flavs aren't self-compatible, but you might try bud pollination. I understand that's used to induce fruiting in some species when another plant isn't handy.

Ideally, you'd have a non-related Flav or another p. edulis around for pollination, and vice versa. But obviously you don't, hence the dilemma. Good luck!

• ninecrow
    Original Author
    17 years ago

jblaschke How do you Bud Pollinate
    Thanks

• birdinthepalm
    17 years ago

I wasn't sure it wasn't the purple one, but obviously you need another plant to pollinate in that case.

• jblaschke
    17 years ago