Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mvsparky

will passion vines grow in iowa?

mvsparky
19 years ago

I WAS JUST WONDERING IF ANYONE FORM IOWA HAS GROWN THESE VINES AND WELL DO THEY GROW HERE. DO I HAVE TO BRING THEM IN OVER THE WINTER MONTHS? ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRICIATED. THANKS

Comments (10)

• mgood4u
    19 years ago

I am new to GW and relatively new to gardening, however, I love passionflowers and have researched them a bit. From what I have read the hardiest of the PF is the Caerula--Blue Passion Flower. I believe it is hardy to z7-8. Even still, I am in z6 and I am going to try one out this year.
    For the more tender varieties, I will probably grow them on a trellis and overwinter inside. You may want to do this also since you are in z5.

• GardenerDc
    19 years ago

I would try P. Incarnata

• jimshy
    19 years ago

P. incarnata is "root hardy" in zone 5 -- the leaves and stems will die back, but resprout in late spring from the roots. Planting the vine against a south-facing wall and giving it a good mulch in the fall can all help it survive a mid-west winter.

Otherwise, you can grow any kind you want in a large pot and bring it inside, but they'll need a lot of light and humidity to do well during the winter.

Jim

P.S. Posting a message in all capitals is sort of like SHOUTING, so please just use regular letters! Thanks!

• GardenerDc
    19 years ago

hmmm, how about p. lutea

• grammahony
    19 years ago

MVS I am in Nebraska, Z5. I grow them and bring them inside for the winter. So far they are doing okay.
    Leslie

• chills71
    19 years ago

I've got Lavender Lady, Incense and a red variety whose name I always forget here at home (indoors all winter) I have some leaf drop and sometimes fight spidermites, but they do fine (the red one has been going out and coming in for 4 years now).