Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leolia_gw

Massachusetts newbie seeks variety advice

leolia
16 years ago

Hello! I'm a newbie to passiflora, and have been so intrigued by them. I was flipping through a catalog with my family, and we got to the passiflora page and our jaw all dropped - "whoa, we HAVE to get some of these" we all agreed! I've always loved passion fruit, so I'd love varities that fruit.

I'd be so appreciative of any advice as to which kinds to choose. I'd like to plant 2 different kinds, for variety of color. I was thinking I'd plant them in a pot in the ground (for ease of moving indoors under lights for winter). It would be at the base of an 8' iron fence in partial sun.

I've read a lot about Maypop, but would be concerned about it running out of control. I've seen some photos of it taking over the house! Would the pot contain it, or my zone 6 winters kill any runners it sends out? I think I'd prefer a less

Also, any recommended sources would be great. Thanks so much in advance!

Comments (8)

• karyn1
    16 years ago