Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anela_gw

indoor questions....

Anela
19 years ago

Hi everyone I'm new to Passion flowers and just bought 3 soon to be four. I wish I could do them all at once lol...Anyway, I will be bringing them in for the winter in a room in my basement with some lights and was wondering if there is anything I should do to keep any kind of pests,mites, or anything of that nature from infesting them? I plan on hanging two or three of the shop lights in the room and will have a few other plants in there but mostly passies. For humidity I will put trays of pebbles under the plants but other then that is there ANY tips you might have to help me :O)...Everyones vines are gorgeous and I can't wait to catch up with the amount you all have! Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Anela

Comments (21)

• tiresunltd
    19 years ago

HI,
    I am relitivly new too. I read somewhere that misting keeps spidermits away. the more advanced growers seem to use hiligon (sp?)lights. Also check out Ebay, there is a starter kit of 6 plants. I got one and was very pleased.

• Anela
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks, can you give me a hint on who is selling the starter plants? I have been to ebay actually bought all my new passies there but didn't see any starter plants of 6. Thanks
    Anela

• Anela
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Ok here is what I have bought...

'Incense'
    'Lady Margaret'
    ' Purple Haze
    'Blue boutique'
    'Caerulea'and
    'Clear sky'......

Are these fairly easy to care for indoors over winter? A friend of mine takes in alot of plants and she said that giving the plants a good 'washing'(water and lemon dawn) before bringing them inside will help alot in preventing spider mites...But I'm not sure if this is ok to do with Passiflora's? There is so much information on here if it wasn't for all the encouragement I see I would have never even attempted this :)
    Anela

• tiresunltd
    19 years ago