Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
baccalynnwv

How many passion vines to produce fruit?

baccalynnwv
18 years ago

I was reading on another thread that someone thought that you needed two passion vines to produce fruit. Is this true? I didn't think this was the case.

This is my first year with the Purple Passion Flower vine. I have stared it from seeds. I thought I had started 12, but I only started 9 and so far 6 have come up. I think that is pretty good as I hear they can be a pain to start from seeds some times. They all germinated within 30 days, taking around 25 days on average at room temp. Probably need a warming pad for them for a faster germination...

Anyway... rambling. Since I have six vines it isn't going to be a problem, but I was just curious. Do you really need two vines to produce fruit?

Comments (7)

• jblaschke
    18 years ago

There are a few species that are self-fertile, but most need a non-clonal companion in order to set fruit. Beyond that, not all passiflora species produce edible fruit, and most hybrids do not.

When you say you have a "Purple Passion Flower" I'm wondering what you mean. I assume this was what the person giving you the seeds called them? On eBay, this usually refers to p. edulis, the commercially grown vine that produces the purple fruit. Is this what you have? If so, be warned that edulis probably won't survive a zone 5 winter if planted unprotected in the ground. You might be better off getting a large pot(s) and planting them there so they can be moved to shelter during colder months.

And getting 6 of 9 to germinate is a good success rate. When your plants are ready to move outside, don't give them full sun right away. Morning sun and partial shade should be started early on in order to harden them off. Passis start as understory vines when sprouting in the wild and climb above the other plants as they grow. I fried a bunch of seedlings last year in direct sun because I hadn't realized this.