Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunauna_gw

Mealybugs on Passiflora caerulea

sunauna
10 years ago

Hi.

Sorry, in advance, for such a long post. I've been battling mealybugs on my passiflora cerulean for more than 2 months now. I've read the posts on organic solutions and then the internet recs on chemical solutions, but so far, nothing has fully eliminated them. My 3 questions are this:

1) The plant has great new foliage and suckers and, though it suffers, recovers well after each application of pesticide (I'm now on my 2nd hearty spraying of plants & soil with Ortho Malathion, with 2 weeks between applications). Still, the bugs seem to be persisting under the largest & top-most roots of the oldest, thickest vine. Since I do not want the bugs to spread to new plants, should I give up and throw this good looking vine away? Or is there really a way to eliminate the bugs entirely. I saw a suggestion to "boil" the roots; I'm just holding off b/c I expect all the young suckers and stems to die if I do such a thing. Will this really work? Or am I better off just giving up and throwing the whole plant away?

2) I read somewhere that passifloras get mealybugs if one doesn't spray the leaves over the winter indoors. I have a new passiflora (incense) that is not yet infested (knock on wood) and am wondering if anyone in zone 5 has experience with it over the winter. I am actually in zone 7b but am a container gardener. My infested passionflower did very well until inside from Nov-January but then got infected w/ these mealybugs. Since both passionflowers are said to be hardy up to Zone 6, I'm wondering if it might be better to leave the new plant outdoors next winter, just letting the vine die back in Nov and then mulching & wrapping w/ burlap & plastic wrap? Any stories of experience with this would be much appreciated.