Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
atheris_squamigera

My passion vine refuses to bloom.

atheris_squamigera
16 years ago

Hello, I am very new to gardening. My first attempt started only a few months ago. I wanted to create a vivarium(it's like a mini ecosystem in a tank) using passion vine and my small brazilian rainbow boa, among other things) both are tropical and enjoy the same conditions, so it seemed perfect. As I was setting the tank up I kept my passion vine in the same room and used the same grow light that it is under currently. The only difference with the light is that before it was about 3ft away, and now it is only inches away to make up for what my 1/4 in glass filters out. It seemed to survive the transplant surprisingly well. It even bloomed with some buds that it had before it went into the vivarium. But now that those buds are gone it won't grow any new ones. Should I buy another light? Would that burn it? I fertilized it with an organic fertilizer (so as not to hurt the snake) a few weeks ago, should I let it recover and wait to fertilize it again? Do you think it is still suffering from transplant shock? Thank you for your time. This is my passion flower I don't know what it is specifically but i bet you do. oops, looks like it didn't show up, please follow the link or ill just tell you that it is a pink flower with short (1/3 inch) stamens. http://gallery.pethobbyist.com/data/112665IMAGE_00049-med.jpg

Comments (14)

• jblaschke
    16 years ago

My guess is that you're passion flower is x violacea "Autopurpurea," one of the oldest passiflora hybrids. My understanding is that it isn't particularly demanding, and can tolerate temperatures down to freezing for a short time, at least.