Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stonato

Best way for Caerulea in my Zone?

stonato
18 years ago

After 2 months, I've managed to grow my Caerulea to about 2 inches tall. Many seeds didn't make it (or make it yet) so this one is my pride and joy. Can anyone recommend the best way to grow this outside once it's time? I live in 6a (Toronto). I've heard it's not that hardy and to grow in a pot with support and bring inside during winter. I'd love to put it in a more permanent location with winter protection if it'll live. Any tips would be great!

thx,

Stonato~

Comments (7)

• fairy_toadmother
    18 years ago

i am brand new at this, but my plan is to take cuttings and plant them as annuals from the one i will keep indoors. since i am zone 5, i don't think there is any way i could protect them for winter. however, i am anxiously awaiting all replies, as well.

• tiresunltd
    18 years ago

I put plastic tents over my sencitive plant. I take PVC and shape it to the situation. If you use the right plastic (I use storm window plastic)you can use PVC glue to glue the plastic right on to the pipe so it won't blow off, but leave an opening and coss it with cloths pins. I also sink a slightly larger pipe into the ground. the tent then fits down into these pipes so its hard for the wind to blow it over. I can put one of these tents over a plant on the fence and protect both sides of the plant.
    I avoid gluing all of the pipes so I can fold them up in the summer for storage. Also a friend of mine put a light bulb in her tents to add warmth. of course I am in Ca. so I am not too sure how efective it would be up there in the refregorator. I don't know if a heat lamp would be to much heat but it is a thought and might be neciary up there. I think there are also what are called plant wraps out there. Another thought I have is to put the plant in a perminit pot and keep the pot warm. keeping the roots from freezing is all important.