Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seaecho1

Which should I get? So many choices!

seaecho1
12 years ago

Hi - I'm brand new to Passies, but I grow lots of tropical plants indoors. What Passies would be good for a West window in S. California high desert area? Remember, I'm a beginner, so need confidence builders. The plants would get about 4 hours of full or filtered sun per day. I love the looks of Vitifolia, Caerulea, Elizabeth, Amethystina, Lady Margaret, Violette, Blue Bouquet and Panda. Do any of these do well as indoor plants exclusively?

Comments (9)

• eristal
    12 years ago

Unfortunately, I cannot tell you what would be best indoors, because I have never grown that way. However, perhaps I can offer some insight into growing those outdoors.

Depending on your exact area, I would guess:

P. caerulea and P. 'Blue Bouquet' should live outdoors all year, and perhaps P.'Panda'. P. 'Lady Margaret' should also survive, but it needs protection from winter water. All of those will take massive quantities of sun.

P. vitifolia and P.'Elizabeth' can also both take lots of sun, but will not take frost. P. amethystina and P. 'Violetta' are a bit more tender overall than the rest you mentioned.

For indoors exclusively, all I can offer is that a friend of mine has bloomed P.'Sherry' indoors. She is very nearly the same plant as P. 'Lady Margaret'.

Please realize that these plants can become very large and difficult to contain if they are happy. Some of the ones you mentioned can grow 20-30 feet in a season.

Hopefully someone else with more indoor experience will chime in to help you out.

Best of luck,
    Eric Wortman

• pshawn
    12 years ago