Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilyred_gw

New & growing for fruits

lilyred
18 years ago

Hi friends, I'm new to passiflora. I write from tropical Singapore and I would like to grow passifloras for the fruits.

I've done some reading and know at least that both the purple and yellow versions of edulis are being commercially produced. But for home-growing purposes, what are the other good tasting fruits you would recommend?

Please recommend those that will self-pollinate and or at least those that I can hand-pollinate with the same flower. For eg, edulis flavicarpa I've read doesn't self pollinate nor does hand-pollinating (with the same flower) work. And recommend a good online seed retailer too please.

Will have more to ask later I'm sure. Thanks.

Lily

Comments (6)

• plummy
    18 years ago

Lily,
    I would go with either p. edulis or p. molisima(sp?) In SF ,CA they are fruiting like crasy. Both are very yummy and easy to grow, but can be invasive, I have a rooted cutting of my edulis that if some chance I could ship it there we could trade. I also have lots of seeds of my edulis. For p. edulis and molisima the bees and insects will polinate for you. Also P. alata has good fruit but need to be polinated with other flowers. P. ligularis has fruit but I don't know much about those. I will post some sites with seed when i remeber there names.

Thomas

• lilyred
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you, Thomas.

I live in a high-rise apartment, 4th storey, and I grow them in my balcony. Natural pollinators are hard to come by but I can hand-pollinate, so I'm looking for species that can pollinate using its own pollens.

About your edulis cutting, we could do a trade if I can find something you like, but I would think shipping a plant half-way across the world even if feasible/viable would be quite exhorbitant, I'm sure.

• plummy
    18 years ago

Lily,