Return to the Passiflora Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Could Use A Lot Of Help!!!

Posted by bettafish 6a -Ontario, Ca (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 27, 05 at 12:32

I am fairly new to gardening, and I have just picked up a BEAUTIFUL PASSIFLORA "Lady Margaret"!

I have had the hardest time finding any information for Passiflora Lady Margaret. It seems to be struggling, only two blooms, and a few have died and fell off.. Where there is new growth the vine seems to be a pale sort of yellow (is this new growth?). None of the yellowing is browning and falling off, it is remaining yellow?

I am unsure of how to prune it as well? I havnt been lucky enough to find any information on the web, and the tag with it doesn't tell me how to prune it if need be. Should I pinch the dead blooms to encourage new growth? or let them wither and fall?

Also, is Lady Margaret a "pet name" for the plant? or is that its actual name?

I would appreciate any and all help

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Could Use A Lot Of Help!!!

Try this, and when you search try using "Lady Margaret" Passiflora just like it is written, I found lots on it. Good luck, it sound beautiful!

Here is a link that might be useful: Lady Margaret

o

Don't trim or prune it- just get something like a small tomato cage (it's what I do) and as the vine(s) grow, simply wrap it around the cage. Then it stays compact & doesn't crawl everywhere.

You don't need to worry about pinching the flowers off either- if not polinated they'll fall off by themselves, and pinching them won't cause the plant to grow any more anyway.