Return to the Passiflora Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Passion Flower at Lowes

Posted by triciaIL z4b/5aIL (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 3, 05 at 15:00

Has anyone seen the passion flowers at your local Lowes? I was just wondering what kind they sell there. The tag just says passiflora, full sun, and cautions that they fruit. When open the flower petals are white and purple. I am new to passion flowers and was wondering if the ones they have are a good kind to buy. Thanks, Tricia

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Passion Flower at Lowes

At my Lowes they sell caerulea (flower white w/blue corona - 5 lobed leaves), 'Lady Margaret' (flower red, corona white - tri-lobed leaves), 'Belotii' (large flower with alternating pink and lt. purple petals/sepals - tri lobed leaves), and 'Incense' (5 to 7 lobes, bright purple flowers with a lot of curly filaments).

Do you remember how many lobes that the leaves had of the ones that you saw?

~Tiger

o

Mine had those mentioned and 2 unusual varieties--Jelly Joker and Aurantia. They are struggling with south Louisiana's extreme heat. I will be repotting them and moving them to the shade. These would be perfect for your zone however. Jelly joker is a stronge solid purple--good color. Aurantia is orange/yellow with red center fillaments. Both are great vines.

o

I got one of the Aurantias at the Lowes in Temple. It had a picture of Incense on the label and the write up on it said white blooms with purple center. I did a google to find out what it was. Wonderful find. Covered with blooms when I got it and continues to put on growth and buds. I was worried that the 90 degree heat we had las week would bother it but so far it is doing great.

Patsy

o

My aurantia is still setting buds but the leaves droop in the afternoon sun. It is less stressed than jelly joker. These vines are not for this much heat, I'm afraid.

o