Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
s_p8987

A whole bunch of ??s from a passinewbie

s_p8987
15 years ago

Hi y'all!

I recently ordered some passiflora seeds online and I am wondering about how to grow them. I soaked them and planted them but none have germinated in over a week. Was I supposed to nick them?

Here are some more questions

- what are some reputable seed/plant sources for passiflora (can be online, or near Austin, Tx)

- where can I find Passiflora 'Coral seas' or 'coral glow' (not sure of the correct cultivar name

- Do passiflora do well in 8b, Austin, Tx?

I'm new to this forum, and if any of y'all could help me, that'd be great!

Comments (3)

• karyn1
    15 years ago

I'm no passie expert but do grow several varieties including a number from seed. I wouldn't expect any passie seed to sprout in a week and I've had some that have taken almost a year. Fresher seed is usually better but many varieties can be successfully dried and stored and retain viability. I soak dry passie seeds in orange juice for a day or two prior to sowing then keep the soil warm and barely moist, not wet and wait. I do not nick the seeds.

There's several reliable nurseries that sell passiflora plants. Zone 9 Tropicals, Grassy Knolls, Glasshouse Works, Kartuz and Caldwell Nursery. I'm sure there's others as well. I know that Caldwell is in Rosenburg TX but have no idea where that is in relation to Austin and it's supposed to be a great nursery to visit. Zone 9 is also in TX but I think it's only online sales. They probably sell the biggest, healthiest plants I've received from any online nursery. Grassy Knolls has the biggest selection. I have Coral Seas and purchased it from one of those nurseries. Some hardy passies can remain inground year round in zone 8 but most will probably need winter protection. Hope this helps and I'm sure one of the passie experts will chime in.
    Karyn

• roxxanne
    15 years ago