Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kmstx_gw

Passion Vine NOT Blooming

kmstx
18 years ago

This May I purchased a passion vine at a plant sale. I planted it in a new bed with mulch, peat moss, and good soil. So far it has grown like crazy, but has not bloomed. I have recently fertilized using Mircale Grow Slow Release and a few weeks before that MG All-Prupose Water Soluble fertilizer. Does it normally take 2 years for these to bloom, or should mine be blooming. It gets afternoon sun, and I've noticed a few yellow leaves. Any suggestions would be helpful as this is my first time growing this. Thanks.

Comments (26)

• Krstofer
    18 years ago

Some never bloom.

Having said that, of the 50+ different vines happily climbing all over outside as I type, 5 have bloomed this year, and 2 more have buds. That's 7 of 50.

Maybe it's "not time". Maybe they're getting too much / little water, sun, heat, fertilizer, shade... I don't know.

Only thing to do really is cross fingers & wait.

• jimshy
    18 years ago

Ease off on the fertilizing -- passies don't need much at all, especially in the ground, and react to high fert levels with lots of leaves and no flowers.

Also, afternoon sun may not be enough for it to flower -- how many hours of direct sun/day does it get?

Finally, does it have a name tag? Knowing which one it is will tell you its flowering habit.

Jim

• gingert
    18 years ago

I have a similar problem. Many, many passiflora cerulea vines have re-appeared in my garden since I planted one tiny vine last year (gotta give it credit, passiflora has spunk!!). Last year the dozens of vines grew to maybe 12-15', but no flowers. So far this year the five or six vines I've kept have gotten to about 5' long, but no flowers. Will any special supplements/foods help? I drop my old soft bananas in the garden sometimes, as I heard passi's like potassium. :)

• Linda_8B
    18 years ago