Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tpsychnurse

caterpillars..will they kill the plants?

tpsychnurse
18 years ago

Will my vine survive the ravages of the hungry caterpillars? There must be fifty or more of them on two Incarnata vines. This is my first attempt and they were filled with flowers just a few weeks ago. Thanks.

Comments (14)

• turtledon
    18 years ago

The small white cats do little damage but the orange ones will eat a lot of your plants. You can pick them off if you wish (they are not dangerous)and put them on a wild plant or go to the butterfly gardening forum and see if someone wants them. I like the butterflies and the plants so it would be a tough choice for me. Your plants will survive but will not bloom with that many cats. I would suggest that you remove most of them so it keeps blooming.

• butterfly15_ca
    18 years ago

If they are orange caterpillars, do not kill them as they will turn into beautiful Gulf Fritillary butterflies!

• passionflow
    18 years ago

At the link below are some pics of the Gulf Fritillary butterfly and its caterpillars.

I would suggest caution when removing the caterpillars though..they have irritant spines & accumulate cyanogenic glycosides, alkaloids etc which they absorb from the Passiflora leaves. I would wear gloves therefore when removing them. The Gulf ones will only feed on Passiflora-some people grow a sacrificial plant that they put all the caterpillars on.
    Myles

Here is a link that might be useful: Gulf Fritillary caterpillar

• tdogmom
    18 years ago