Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krstofer_gw

Questions:

Krstofer
18 years ago

I'm always reading the passiflora germination & growing techniques of others as I'm by no means an expert.. Pretty much I leave 'em alone & they grow. Any tips / tricks I can get to make them grow better & flower more I'm willing to try..

This evening I found a site- Rare exotic seeds, and while reading their passiflora germination & growing tips I came across a couple things I haven't heard before:

Flowering:

Pruning is a must to keep the vine healthy. Prune off less vigorous growth and occasionally prune back vigorous growth to promote flowering.

I haven't heard of trimming the plant to cause flowering, as far as I know they flower on new growth.. Perhaps the pruning will cause new growth then said new growth will flower?

Pot size:

If their pot is too large or if they have an unrestricted root run then the whole plant will simply get bigger and bigger but it will refuse to flower and therefore produce the fruits. By limiting the pot size you are limiting the ability to grow and this is seen as a threat, so the natural mechanism is to produce seed for the next generation. A suitably sized pot for an adult plant would generally be of 12 inches in diameter.

Lots of mine have grown through the bottom of the pot (they sit right on the ground) and thus have become huge. Some have flowered, while others just grow. So any truth to this "if it's in the ground it will just get huge" statement? Or will they flower sooner if left in a pot, restricting the root growth? I've had various passifloras flower in pots ranging from 6" all the way up to 'in the ground'.. Isn't it age / time of year rather than growing room that dictates flowering?

What am I growing? Pics & info here.

Comments (4)

• jblaschke
    18 years ago