Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joshv21

Overwintering Indoors

joshv21
12 years ago

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie to passiflora's. I discovered them mid summer, and got a late start to growing them from seeds. But I now have sprouts popping up left and right. I have P. Incarnata, P. Edulis, P. Edulis Flavicarpa, and P. Mollissima seedlings growing now. My questions are, if I am going to keep them indoors, what is a good size planting pot to keep them in? I want them all growing in individual pots. And also,what must be done to care for them over the winter? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I am going to be going to Europe the study abroad for a semester, so my sister is going to be taking care of my beloved plants. So I gotta get all the info I can and relay it to her. Thanks!

Comments (6)

• karyn1
    12 years ago

I winter passies over inside and in the greenhouse. If keeping them inside, especially several plants, you are going to need some type of grow light. I keep them under lighta about 14 hrs per day. A sunny window isn't sufficient. Not only don't you have the proper light spectrum but there's not enough hours of daylight during the winter months.

As for pot size I don't see why you'd need to be in anything bigger then a 4" pot if they are just seedlings now. You have to be careful about over-watering while they are inside but you do want to keep up the humidity around them. Misting daily will help. Plants that are kept inside are a bug magnet and the humidity will help keep them in check. You'll still have to carefully inspect your plants often and if you see an outbreak nip it in the bud before it gets out of hand. Spider mites, mealy bugs and scale are the worst and most likely to show up. I also decrease the amount of fertilizer while inside, less frequent and diluted feedings.