Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yeshwant91

Zone 7a hardy, fragrant, fruit producing to intertwine with roses

yeshwant91
18 years ago

I am looking for a passionflower for my townhouse garden in Brooklyn that I can use like a clematis to intertwine with my roses and also grow up a white property wall. It needs to be fragrant and produce edible fruit. I am new to growing Passionflowers, but cannot forget the beauty, the myths and the fragrance of the flowers from my native India. I also can recall the wonderful flavor of the juice that a friend's mother made from the fruit.

Comments (4)

• kiwinut
    18 years ago

Your best bet is P. 'Incense', which should be hardy and fragrant. However, it will need a pollinator to set fruit, and even then will likely be very shy bearing, even with hand-pollination. P. incarnata would be your best (only?) choice for a pollinator. Two different incarnatas would give you lots of fruit (on the incarnatas). The fragrance may be a bit of a gamble, as incarnata can smell good or bad (and some fruits are much better/worse than others). Probably nothing else exists that would be reliably hardy in your zone, that meets your criteria.

~kiwinut

• Krstofer
    18 years ago

ya I don't know.. It gets arctic there, from what I know of living Up-state & watching ... That show with "lenny" and "brisco" and those guys- the cop one? yeah.

Maybe a hardy kiwi for the fruit, and caerulia or something for the flowers. But yeah I don't think you're going to have much luck with the "arctic edible passionflower" search.

• singhin
    18 years ago

Could try Blue Crown-pretty darn hardy and I've used it to pollinate Incense with a couple of successes. Although you're right Kiwinut for as many as I've tried to pollinate, I've had more fail than succeed. Not sure if maybe it's a time of day thing or what.