Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karyn1_gw

Different edulis blooms

karyn1
15 years ago

Another of my edulis vines finally bloomed but the flower is solid white. My other one has a white and purple flower. I didn't realize that there were white edulis flowers. I tried cross pollinating them. Do you think that will work?

{{gwi:553611}}

{{gwi:553612}}

Comments (7)

• linda-lu
    15 years ago

Hi Karyn,

It seems to me that that might work, but I am a complete novice at this! I'm just excited for you that you ended up with two different blooms!

One of my seedlings has finally sprouted its first adult leaf. Yeah!

Rgds,

Linda.

• mark4321_gw
    15 years ago

Karyn,

I really like the white one--very cool! Hopefully someone will get back to you as to whether it's been seen before. If not, Something tells me there would be people out there interested in growing it. Have you thought about propagating it and registering it if white is uncommon and it gives good fruit? It may be premature for the second, but I'm sure I'm not the only one who would be disappointed if it is fairly unique and it was lost for some reason.

If nobody out there can tell you whether high quality white flowers have been seen, maybe you could contact someone? Say Myles Irvine (I'm guessing he'll read the post at some point and respond, but it looks like you can send him email). Elizabeth at Grassy Knoll may also be of help. I'm sure either of those people can direct you to whomever would know if they themselves don't know. They could probably also tell you whether the flower would be considered by the pros to be a "quality" one--I would certainly not have a clue there as to what's involved.

I have to say I especially like how the flower is pure white. Is there any unusual pigmentation (or lack thereof) elsewhere on the vine?

• karyn1
    Original Author
    15 years ago