Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
figara_gw

Newbie with questions/ ID

figara
14 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie to forum and gardening in general. I have a pink brugmansia and I joined the Burgmansia forum about 2 month ago.

About a month ago I came across some seed pods of a Passiflora Kewensis ( I was told is called). I liked so much the flower that I took a few picture of it.

I want to know if this is the name of the plant.

I planted a few seeds and some sprouted and the seedling are about 1 1/2 in. I have a few seeds and I want to give away some but I want to know if this is indeed what I have. Would the seedling be called the same like the parent?

Thank you

Comments (16)

• fluffybonbon
    14 years ago

It's beautiful passie. How do you germinated from seeds ?
    How long the seed will sprout ? I planted some bouquet passion from seed about 5weeks ago but nothing happen yet.Please, share your experience . Thanks

• figara
    Original Author
    14 years ago

First trial I took a few fresh seeds covered with the gely sack right from the seed pod and put them in soil with perlite,kept the soil moist and 2 of them germinated. In a few cases I could see that the gely sack molded and I had to remove it.

Second trial I dried the seeds from the gely sack they were in and planted them in peat moss. I did not wright gown the day when I started but I think is like 2 weeks and I can see one is popping out.

I hope someone will chine in and answer my question. Thanks.

• karyn1
    14 years ago

That doesn't look like my P. kewensis. That looks more like a P. mollissima or something similar to it. Here's my P. kewensis. I bought this from a reliable seller so I believe it is correctly ID'd.

{{gwi:530674}}

• fluffybonbon
    14 years ago

Thanks so much . Do you used heating pad to germinate ?
    Where do you purchased these passie seed ?
    My mollissima died in summer because transferred to the pot.
    PLMK,

• figara
    Original Author