Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pshawn2

registering hybrids

pshawn
14 years ago

Hello passiflora-philes. I'm new to this whole passiflora hybridizing world, and I have a few questions:

1. Where would one be able to peruse a list of existing hybrids?

2. How would one register a new hybrid?

3. Why would one want to register a new hybrid?

4. If one of the parent vines is unidentified, is a picture of the parents and the hybrid of any use?

I will post photos of my first hybrids (I've got 4 or 5 different crosses at the 2 inch seedling stage) when they're flowering. I can't wait!!!!

Comments (2)

• kiwinut
    14 years ago

Don't register your hybrids before they hatch ;-). Most hybrids are not worth registering. They need to be really special in some way such as unique attractive flowers, extremely free-flowering, easy to grow, etc. or perhaps a cross that has never been made before.

You can find a list of registered hybrids and the guidelines and rules for naming at the link below (along with tons of good info).

Good luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Passiflora Online-Registrar

• eristal
    14 years ago

pshawn,

I must give my $0.02 worth here.

1. The lists of registered hybrids can be found following kininut's link above. You will find many links to pages of hybrds, though there is not one concise list anywhere that I can find. You need to go through all of them to determine whether your cross has been done and if your preferred names have been used.

2. You register a new hybrid on the same website. Download the form, fill it out, attach a picture of the flower, and send it to Les King.