Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jkrup44

Advice needed for first time to root Passiflora cuttings

jkrup44
15 years ago

Hi, I have never tried to root cuttings before. My in-laws have some beautiful passion vines on their property with beautiful red flowers. I have looked through many pictures on the internet and I am almost sure it is Passiflora vitifolia. I took 7 cuttings from the ends to the vines, each about 7-8 inches long and put them in a cup of water and brought them home within about 2 hours. I trimmed off a couple of leaves that were close to the cut ends and dipped about an inch of the cut ends into rooting hormone powder. Then I put them into small pots filled with some really rich dark soil from a part of the yard that I loosened up and mixed with some perlite to make a sort of "potting mix". Then I watered them and placed them on the porch in an area of part sun/ part shade. I have no idea what I am doing, so any advice would be really appreciated. Is there anything I have done wrong so far? What advice does anybody have to keep these alive? Thanks.

Comments (5)

• passionflow
    15 years ago

I would say put them in shade pretty quick and trim part of the leaves off to reduce transpiration. They may do better with inflated plastic bags round them. Shorter cuttings can do better.
    Myles

Here is a link that might be useful: Passiflora cuttings

• msbatt
    15 years ago