Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redpeony_gw

best red peony

redpeony
17 years ago

I am searching for the best true red peony to plant. I already know that I want Chocolate soldier and Buckeye belle for dark reddish color, but for a true blood red color which is the best? How are the red hue on Red Charm, Old Faithful or Henry Bockstoce? Is Old Faithful so impressive that is worth the price?

Janet

Comments (45)

• maifleur01
    17 years ago

Old Faithful is worth its price not because of the red color but because it does not divide well. Plants that divide well and make many roots are generally cheaper. It takes longer in the field to make a division. Time = $$$

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    17 years ago

I am fairly new to peonies, having only grown a few more common varieties (from the big box stores), but have this page bookmarked.

The site has many wonderful pics.

Sue

Here is a link that might be useful: Midnight Sun at Nicholls Gardens

• amulet
    17 years ago

I cannot vouch for Old Faithful or Henry Bockstoce, as I do not grow them, but Red Charm is definitely the most red "red peony" that I have ever seen. To me it does bloom a true red. I would definitely recommend it!

• bunnycat
    17 years ago

Not only is Red Charm very red, but it has very stiff stems, and doesn't need staking. That's a major plus. Wonderful fragrance, also.

• maifleur01
    13 years ago

I am glad this thread was brought forward. I once again purchased Red Charm and must report that for me it is male Cardinal Red. The bright red during the breeding season. It has to be something in my soil because a friend has Red Charm from the same source and it is the normal red color.

All of us have killed some of our more expensive plants.

• flowergirl70ks
    13 years ago

Postillion blooming now in my yard is a good clear red.

• KarenPA_6b
    9 years ago