Return to the Peonies Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I think I killed my peony bulb

Posted by KimberlySC (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 5, 05 at 11:24

Hello everyone
I purchase a peony bulb from Lowes several weeks ago. There was a little green sprout coming up from the dirt and now the green part is black. Have I killed this bulb? I was waiting for it to get a little warmer for planting and if there is any chance at all that this is still alive I will plant today and mulch very good. Now I wonder if I should have put this in the
refrigerator. I'm new to peonies!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I think I killed my peony bulb

It may be dead but peonies are hard to kill. If the root still has some heft and moisture it's probably alive. Remember, peonies are really Northern demonstration plants and need a lot of cold exposure to do well. So here in the South you plant them shallow--with buds at the surface--and do not mulch in the winter, only the summer. Plant it now and water it well. Or,better yet, take it back to Lowes and get a replacement--they are pretty laissez-faire about returns if you keep the receipt.

o

Peonies are not a bulb and should be potted up as soon as purchased. I keep mine in a gallon pot through the first season and then plant a much stronger peony in the ground either in the fall or next spring. Al

o

I support the notion that bareroot peonies should be poted first and then moved into grounds after full year of growth in a pot.
That would serve two purposes, first, they will be able to grow in most favorable conditions while still being babies and second, since potted peonies could be planted at any time of the year you'll have more time to think about their future PERMANENT place in landscape by moving pots several times during the summer thus avoiding moving it later if you plant them in the ground and you are wrong. Been there, done that.

o