Return to the Peonies Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Peonies - How should I plant these?

Posted by serenityspeaks Ohio (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 17, 13 at 11:44

Hi! I'm totally new to Peonies but I couldn't pass these three Karl Rosenfeld bare roots for $1.97 a piece! I'm not sure how to plant them because of how the roots themselves are shaped and because there are so many eyes shooting out from just about every angle. Should I plant them as pictured in the first photo? Also should I plant them asap because of how big the eyes are? I do know they should be planted in full sun with the eyes 2 inches below the soil. Thank you so much!

photo DSC03744-2.jpg
 photo DSC03746-2.jpg
 photo DSC03748-2.jpg
 photo DSC03749-2.jpg
 photo DSC03751-2.jpg
 photo DSC03752-2.jpg
 photo DSC03753-2.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Peonies - How should I plant these?

From my experience, it is best to plant spring planted peonies in the cool shade so they are not too stressed out by sun and heat. In the fall, move them to their permanent location. I did this last year, the peonies that were grown in the shade are now awarding me with buds but the other ones are stlll struggling.

o

Great thank you! Does it matter which way I place them in the ground? It looks like a lot of the growth is growing the wrong way compared to how the root itself looks, if that makes any sense. For example, the #1 root, should I plant it the way it's pictured or turn it so more root is underground? If I turn it, the growth will then be sideways, will it find it's way upright?

o