Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caseygrow

My peony was mowed down! Will it make it?

caseygrow
16 years ago

The subject pretty much speaks for itself. I asked my lawn guys not to come for another week, hoping to take some time to mark all my plants, but they surprised me this morning with the roar of the mowers. The first place they mowed had a peony that was just about 11 inches tall with 3 shoots. They're all now 3". This is my first year growing peonies and just put these in last fall. This particular plant was the best looking of the bunch so far.

So- please tell me this peony will come back! I wasn't expecting it to bloom this year because I hear they don't until the 2nd year...

Thanks guys,

Casey

Comments (11)

• Nancy
    16 years ago

It'll be fine :) I had a peony I bought from one of those box stores & planted it in a bed. My husband decided we should paper & mulch that area, then plant in iris. I forgot all about that little peony & no sign of it that year. Next spring there it was. I tried to dig it out to plant it elsewhere, but of course, the iris was right there. I didn't get enough of the root to start. Next spring, lo & behold, there it was again, apparently the root was still there. I transplanted it successfully that time. I think it took 3 years for it to bloom, but it made it :)

• jqpublic
    16 years ago

It will come back (not guaranteed to come back this year). Most have latent buds though so it could resprout, but it might not send them up. Was it growing in the lawn? Perhaps better borders (just in case) for next time??

• caseygrow
    Original Author
    16 years ago