Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
texasgrl2324

Peony shoots

texasgrl2324
11 years ago

Hi! I'm new to gardening. I planted peony bulbs in early spring (I know, I know) and one of them just shot up a beautiful little red shoot. I was looking at the other spots where i planted and one has about 6 teeny tiny pale pink shoots coming up. My concern is that they are kind of laying in the soil. They have barely peeked through. Is this normal? The other shoot is so thick, red & it's straight as can be. Just wondering if those other little teeny shoots are normal or I'd something happened to them.

Also what should I expect from this season? I didn't expect them to grow at all since I planted them in the spring instead of the fall.

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• texasgrl2324
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is the one that is red & thick

• lizbest1
    11 years ago

Are they the same variety? They all bloom in spring but some are significantly earlier than others...could be as easy as that. And it's okay to plant them in the spring, lots of the mail order companies send out bareroot peonies in the spring and they do fine.
    As long as the one that isn't growing as fast isn't planted too deep you'll probably see it start popping up soon. Was it a container bought plant or bareroot? Do you know how deep the base of the eyes are? If it was bought in a container, did you move soil away from the roots/eyes to judge how deep to plant?

Even if it was planted a bit too deep you can probably carefully scratch away some soil to expose the eyes some, I do the same with the heavy layer of mulch in my garden beds each spring. Good luck!

• texasgrl2324
    Original Author
    11 years ago