Return to the Peonies Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
ants and peonies -- why?

Posted by EarthlyDelights Z6 PA (My Page) on
Thu, May 12, 05 at 8:49

i'm new to peonies and notice ants, ants and more ant. there are only buds so far with blooms on the way. a friend told me they will get worse that ants will be almost embedded in the flower portion.

what is the reason for the ants? do they act as pollunators?

i'd appreciate any advise at all.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ants and peonies -- why?

The Heartland Peony Society has a FAQ section, and some of the questions are about ants. You might want to check this out.

Here is a link that might be useful: Heartland Peony Society FAQs

o

The ants are attracted to the sweet juice of a bud about to open. They do no damage and are gone when the bud opens. If you pick a peony for the house ants will not be a problem. Al

o

thank you both for the information.
amulet, thank you for the web site, very informative.

o

In fact its an old wives tale that peonies need ants to bloom or be pollinated by them. The eye buds are set in the late summer into fall for the upcoming year.The ants as someone mentioned, love the sweet nectar. If they persist after the flowers open, cut the stems and shake the flowers and the ants will fall out of them.

o

Ants have this habit of liking sweets....and the wax coating on the bud is what they like. That's the only reason they are there....to feed.

They do nothing for the bud's opening.

On roses, aphids secrete honeydew....ants love honeydew...so the aphids secrete and the ants eat. Along comes a ladybug. Ladybugs like to eat aphids....but that's the ant's meal ticket...so they attack the ladybugs.

See, they're not so dumb.

o

When I cut peonies to bring in the house, I stick them upside down in a bucket of water for about 5 minutes to drive the ants out of the blooms. Works like a charm, and doesn't hurt the bloom a bit.

o

flowerluvr